RSS Feed

Week 13 – I’m Going On A Summer Vacation

Posted on

Ever have one of those weeks at work, where you have nothing but good intentions going into it but it somehow end up frantically doing only what is necessary? I’ll say no more. Preparing for vacation often requires the one week off just to recover from all of the work it took in the preparation to leave.

I had hoped to have a guest blogger in week 13 – a companion to my bun post – written by my companion Lisa. Not gonna happen my friends. But she did happen to make the most awesome vegetarian anasazi bean burgers to go with my hamburger buns, and I promised to share the recipe.

Anasazi Bean Burgers

1 cup cooked anasazi beans

¾ to 1 cup breadcrumbs (home-made if you’re cooking totally from scratch)

1 egg, beaten

1 tablespoon olive oil (more if needed)

¼ cup red onion, diced

¼ cup carrot, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

¾ teaspoon cumin

¼ teaspoon cayenne

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon black pepper (to your taste)

Heat the one tablespoon of olive oil in a frying pan. Saute the onion and carrot for about ten minutes, until soft. Add the garlic and cook for 2 additional minutes. Remove from heat and cool slightly. Combine the sautéed vegetables in a food processor with the beans, cumin, and cayenne and process until chopped to the consistency you’d like (rough or smooth, depends on the burger you want). Place your bean/veggie mixture in a bowl and add the cumin, salt, cayenne, beaten egg and bread crumbs. Mix together with your hands until the mixture holds together well, it will feel almost like pie dough. (Add a few more bread crumbs if needed.) If the mixture is too dry and doesn’t need bread crumbs, add a little bit more olive oil. Form into patties and cook over medium heat about 3-5 minutes on each side.

The burgers freeze really well (after cooking) and are delicious with melted cheese on top. I loved mine topped with avocado, tomato, cilantro, and a little mayonnaise.

So I’m off to Maine for a week to lounge in the sun by the bay, eat a lot of local lobster, and savor the one week where I give myself a bit of a break and don’t have to cook everything from scratch. Bring on the tortilla chips!

About outpostcoop

I also live in another world of creativity. Visit my art blog here: http://paczkisplayground.blogspot.com

7 responses »

  1. Lisa looks about 12 in this picture, and what she cooked sound fab. I have been getting creative too with the veggies, and would love to have a potluck.
    You are in Maine now, where we all should be.
    Enjoy! And when you get home, you might get some non-edible goodies….

    Reply
  2. Lisa looks about 12 in this picture, and what she cooked sounds fab. I have been getting creative too with the veggies, and would love to have a potluck.
    You are in Maine now, where we all should be.
    Enjoy! And when you get home, you might get some non-edible goodies….

    Reply
  3. The burgers sound wonderful! Thanks for the clear instructions.

    Can you send us a virtual postcard from Maine?

    Reply
  4. diane schieffer

    Lounge away!!!

    Reply
  5. I bet these would work with just about any bean… sounds good! I just made up a big batch of lentil burgers that are now in the freezer, but when I exhaust them, I’m making these!

    Reply
  6. Just little ole me

    Hey,
    Did you get to cook on vacation? I hear it’s blueberry season in Maine!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: 52 Weeks of Recipes | A Year Of Inconvenience

Leave a Reply

