RSS Feed

Week One – The Chart


Inconvenient – from scratch Formerly Convenient – from Outpost
Granola Bars (which fell apart so I made them into granola) Barbara’s Cinnamon Granola Bars or bulk maple walnut granola
Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread (x2) Rudy’s Multigrain Bread
Egg Salad (made into a sandwich) Pre-made Sandwich from Outpost’s deli
Salad with Chicken strips and Balsamic Salad Dressing – dressing from scratch Outpost Caesar Salad
Cornmeal Crackers Any kind of snack cracker or pretzel
Flour Tortillas REAL Flour Tortillas (trust me on this one)
Chicken Asparagus Salad (made up with what I had in the refrigerator) w/lemon Dijon dressing Outpost Caesar Salad (Yes, I would eat this quite often)
Popcorn (x2) Barbara’s Cheese Puffs
About outpostcoop

I also live in another world of creativity. Visit my art blog here: http://paczkisplayground.blogspot.com

8 responses

  1. Looks like those homemade tortillas REALLY didn’t work out so well! ;-) There’s loads of cracker recipes on the internet, and Alton Brown has a good granola bar recipe. Good luck. I’m rooting for you!

  2. We often pride ourselves on not cooking with too many “convenience” foods… but in thinking a bit more about it, I’m actually a bit surprised by the number of things we depend upon to make it through the average week. Like canned tomatoes!

    Bet this chart will be growing, even in the next few weeks!

  3. I’m loving reading about your adventure!

    The smittenkitchen has a tasty granola bar recipe that lends well to variations.

    davidlebovitz has a very good fruit cake bar recipe.

    These two recipes have helped me cut down on my Lara Bar purchases (yum!)

  4. I make homemade tortillas using this recipe from the Homesick Texan blog. They’re yummy and hard to screw up–or rather, even the screw-ups are tasty. They’re not typical store-bought flour tortillas because they’re thicker and chewier, but no one has ever complained at my house. I haven’t tried, but they should freeze well.

    Good luck on your project!

    http://homesicktexan.blogspot.com/2007/03/and-end-to-my-quest-flour-tortillas.html

  5. We are on a similar journey. I picked up a breadmaker at a thrift shop for $10 and that has helped us tremendously. I can make a loaf of organic whole wheat bread (or pumpernickle, or white, or rye, or foccacia, or pizza dough) for less than a dollar , use less energy than I would using my oven, and enjoy a crock-pot like convenience. As long as you stay away from those overpriced “bread machine mixes” and use wholesome ingredients, you’ll be suprised at what good sandwich bread you can make in a breadmaker. It has kept me from breaking my resolution to stay away from store bought bread many a time. Just an idea!

    • I received a bread machine for my birthday last September and haven’t used it yet. My secret about bread baking is I love it! I love handling it, kneading it, and watching it transform through all of the stages of becoming bread. I know I’ll depend on the bread machine at some point, and will remember your advice. Thanks.

  6. Here’s my recipe for granola bars that really do work out as bars…

    http://veginq8.blogspot.com/2009/09/making-granola-bars.html

    and graham crackers

    http://veginq8.blogspot.com/2009/09/making-granola-bars.html

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

